
Austin, Texas
What foundation repair costs in Austin
By Slab & Pier
Researched with AI help and checked against the sources listed at the end
Sources checked October 8, 2026.
At a glance
Austin bids depend on the repair and pier type. In 162 City of Austin permit descriptions with one clear installed-pier quantity, the median is 14 piers. That selected sample does not establish a typical job or its price. Two companies report averages from their own booked work: just over $11,000 in San Marcos, including the engineer, permit and plumbing test, and $13,798 for all service types in Austin in 2026. Angi posts a $6,815 Austin average without explaining its local sample. Posted Texas engineering evaluation fees in our sample run from about $400 to $1,000. Compare bids against the same repair plan.
How Austin repairs are priced
A slab repair usually lifts and holds the house on piers driven or drilled under the foundation. Companies quote by the pier, plus any plumbing test, permit and engineer report. The pier types you may see on Austin bids are pressed concrete piles, steel push piers, drilled concrete piers and helical piers. Pier-and-beam houses are often leveled by shimming or replacing their existing piers instead.
Two things set the price: how many piers the house needs, and what each pier costs. The first comes from how much of the foundation has moved. The second depends on the pier type and how deep it goes to reach firm soil or rock.
Pier counts in a selected set of Austin permits
Of 2,104 City of Austin foundation repair permits issued since 2024, 162 descriptions give one clear quantity of piers to install. The median in that selected set is 14 piers. Descriptions with multiple quantities or adjustments were left out, so this is a limited sample, not a citywide typical job.
| Sample | Permits | 25th percentile | Median | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One clear installation quantity | 162 | 10 piers | 14 piers | 19 piers |
These figures come from permit descriptions, not completed-job surveys. The permits do not report what homeowners paid.
Published job totals
These figures cover different services and places. Only two companies say their averages come from booked jobs. None establishes a typical bill for every Austin repair.
| Source | Figure | Area | What it rests on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olshan Foundation Solutions | $13,798 average | Austin, 2026 | The company's booked work, all service types combined |
| Pinnacle Foundation Repair | Just over $11,000 average | San Marcos | The company's jobs over the past 12 months, including engineer, permit and plumbing test |
| Pinnacle Foundation Repair | About $9,800 average | Not stated | Company FAQ; includes engineer report, permit and plumbing test |
| Angi | $6,815 average; most jobs $3,822 to $9,809 | Austin | Not stated |
| HomeAdvisor | $5,174 average; most jobs $2,225 to $8,133 | United States | A survey of its customers |
| This Old House | $5,179 average; published range $2,224 to $8,134 | United States | Angi cost data |
What companies say a pier costs
Posted per-pier prices vary by pier type, area and what is included. The City permit counts and these companies' price claims come from different jobs. Multiplying the permit median by a posted price would not give a reliable Austin bill.
| Source | Pier type | Price per pier | Area it describes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Church Foundation Repair | Pressed concrete | $350 to $500 | Austin |
| Church Foundation Repair | Steel pressed piling | $400 to $650 | Austin |
| Dura Pier | Pressed concrete | $450 to $900 installed | Houston |
| Dura Pier | Steel | $950 to $1,800 | Houston |
| Ram Jack | Steel pressed piling | $1,500 to $3,000 | Austin page; same table on its national page |
| Ram Jack | Helical | $2,000 to $4,000 | Austin page; same table on its national page |
| G.L. Hunt Foundation Repair | Not stated | $1,000 to $3,000 | Texas |
The lowest posted prices in this table are for pressed concrete piles. Dura Pier says its steel piers cost more because they go deeper and carry more load. Ask every bidder for a price per pier by type, and the pier count and layout behind it, so bids can be compared line by line.
What an independent engineer costs
An engineer you hire yourself can inspect the foundation, advise whether it needs repair, and draw the pier plan that bidders price. Our guide to hiring an independent foundation engineer explains what to request and how to check a Texas PE license. In Austin, verification of an existing structure at least 10 years old is exempt from structural drawing requirements, but an inspector may still request drawings or a Structural Verification Report from a Texas-registered engineer or architect. New foundation or framing work has different rules. Round Rock requires a sealed engineered plan for every residential foundation repair permit and a final engineered report before the final inspection.
| Firm | Slab | Pier-and-beam | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Crosstown Engineering | $400 | $500 | Inspection and report for a reasonably sized home, posted on its Dallas process page; ask its Austin office for a local quote |
| Nevins Engineering | From $425 | Not posted | For a 1,500 square foot footprint; distance may add to it |
| Tucker Engineering | $850 written, $750 verbal | $1,000 written, $900 verbal | Round Rock; travel fee for outlying areas |
| Lange Engineering | $250 final inspection after repair | Dallas Fort Worth; the only post-repair fee we found posted by a Texas engineering firm | |
We did not find a posted Austin post-repair letter fee in the pages we could read. Ask for that fee up front, along with the first evaluation.
Permit and other fees
- City of Austin permit. The fee schedule effective October 1, 2026 lists $112.76 for express residential plan review and $72.96 for residential express inspection. These are line items, not a complete permit quote. Check the City's current schedule for your project.
- Round Rock permit. $125 for a residential foundation repair permit.
- Plumbing test. One Austin company puts a test of the supply and drain lines at $400 to $700. Some companies include it in their price.
- Warranty transfer. Terms vary. Quality Foundation Repair Austin says slab coverage on piers that reached at least 8,000 psi can transfer for $350, including a hydrostatic plumbing test. Its page also lists a $200 pier-and-beam transfer fee, but does not clearly explain eligibility. Hercules Foundation Repair lists a fee equal to 10% of the original contract price for one transfer to the next buyer directly from the original client. Its warranty terms say to notify it within 30 days, but the request section says 90 days; confirm the deadline in writing. Read the written terms before signing.
What this page cannot tell you
We did not find public repair invoices in the sources checked. City of Austin permit values are mostly $1 placeholders (94%), so they do not establish what homeowners paid. The prices above are each publisher's claims. Compare two or three bids priced against the same pier plan, ideally one drawn by an engineer you hired.
How this page works
The pier-count sample comes from City of Austin residential foundation repair permits issued from January 1, 2024 through October 7, 2026. It includes descriptions with one clear number of piers to install, and leaves out descriptions with multiple quantities or adjustments. Prices come from the companies, engineering firms, guides and City documents named in each table, read on October 8, 2026. Each price is that publisher's own claim; we did not verify it against invoices. No company paid to appear on this page, and companies cannot pay to change these facts. The research was done with AI help, and every figure was checked against its source.

Sources
- City of Austin, Issued Construction Permits (dataset 3syk-w9eu), checked October 7, 2026
- Olshan Foundation Solutions, Austin page, checked October 8, 2026
- Pinnacle Foundation Repair, San Marcos page, checked October 8, 2026
- Pinnacle Foundation Repair, FAQ, checked October 8, 2026
- Angi, foundation repair cost in Austin (updated October 10, 2025), checked October 8, 2026
- HomeAdvisor, foundation repair cost (updated June 20, 2026), checked October 8, 2026
- This Old House, foundation repair cost (updated March 6, 2026), checked October 8, 2026
- Church Foundation Repair, Austin foundation repair cost guide, checked October 8, 2026
- Dura Pier, foundation repair cost (Houston), checked October 8, 2026
- Ram Jack Austin, foundation repair costs, checked October 8, 2026
- G.L. Hunt Foundation Repair, foundation repair costs, checked October 8, 2026
- Crosstown Engineering, the process of foundation repair, checked October 8, 2026
- Nevins Engineering, structural foundation evaluation, checked October 8, 2026
- Tucker Engineering, services, checked October 8, 2026
- Lange Engineering, slab foundation inspection cost, checked October 8, 2026
- City of Austin, Notice of Rule Adoption R161-22.19, Building Criteria Manual 4.4.4 (effective December 1, 2022), checked October 8, 2026
- City of Round Rock, Other Building Permits (residential foundation repair), checked October 8, 2026
- City of Austin, Development Services fees, checked October 8, 2026
- City of Austin, FY 2026-27 residential fee schedule (effective October 1, 2026), checked October 8, 2026
- Quality Foundation Repair Austin, warranty transfer terms, checked October 8, 2026
- Hercules Foundation Repair, warranty transfer terms, checked October 8, 2026
- CenTex Foundation Repair, FAQ (plumbing tests), checked October 8, 2026